Religious Divorce Requirements & Practices Depending on Your Faith

By Kelley A. Joseph

Divorce is a sensitive and emotional process that affects individuals from different religious backgrounds. In many cases, religious communities have their own specific requirements and practices when it comes to obtaining a religious divorce alongside a civil one. In this blog post, we will explore some of the religious divorce requirements in various faiths you can talk to your Family Law Attorney about:

1. Jewish Divorce (Get):
In Judaism, a divorce, known as "A Get" is initiated by the Husband. This religious divorce process, conducted according to Jewish law (Halakha), involves the Husband presenting his Wife with a Get document. The Get must be given willingly and without coercion, be accepted by the Wife, and be delivered directly to her.

2. Islamic Divorce (Talaq):
In Islam, divorce is permitted but generally considered a last resort. The most common form of divorce is talaq, where the Husband announces the divorce verbally or in writing, usually with a waiting period known as iddah. The practice and requirements for divorce can vary among different Islamic schools of thought and cultural practices.

3. Hindu Divorce (Divorce Act of 1869):
In Hinduism, divorce was not traditionally encouraged, but the Hindu Marriage Act of 1955 and the Divorce Act of 1869 provided legal frameworks for divorce in India. Divorces can be granted based on specific grounds, such as adultery, cruelty, desertion, or conversion to another religion.

4. Christian Divorce (Denominational Practices):
The requirements for divorce in Christianity vary among different denominations and local practices. Some Christian denominations, such as Roman Catholicism, do not permit divorce at all and consider marriage to be a sacrament. Other denominations may allow divorce for reasons such as infidelity, abuse, or irreconcilable differences.

5. Buddhist Divorce (Secular Processes):
Buddhism does not have specific religious laws or rituals for divorce. It is generally seen as a secular matter, and divorce processes vary based on local legal systems and cultural practices in predominantly Buddhist countries.

6. Sikh Divorce (Anand Karaj Act):
In Sikhism, the Anand Karaj Act is followed for religious marriages. However, there is no specific religious process for divorce within Sikhism. Divorces are generally conducted through legal and civil means, in accordance with the local laws of the region.

Religious divorce requirements vary widely across different faiths and cultural practices. It is crucial for individuals to understand both the legal and religious requirements when seeking a divorce within their respective religious communities, and with an experienced divorce attorney, who can consult with your religious leaders, experts, and other legal professionals and provide guidance and support during the divorce process and ensure compliance with both religious and civil laws.

Call now for more information.

Related Posts
  • Changes in the Law on Alimony & Child Matters Read More
  • Why Would People Keep Living Together After Divorce? Read More
  • Do You Get Alimony During Your Divorce? Read More

Get Started With Our Experienced Advocate

Contact US Today
  • An Aggressive Litigator

    Our trial-tested attorney is as confident in the courtroom as she is in mediation.

  • Decades of Experience

    With almost 30 years of experience, Kelley A. Joseph is respected among the legal community.

  • A Straight-Shooter
    Our attorney will speak honestly with you, treating you with respect and transparency.
  • Communication is a Priority
    We value being accessible to you, and you'll be kept in the loop on the status of your case at every step.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.